BHP Billiton has appointed four new non-executive directors to its South32 spin-off company.

They include former PwC partner Frank Cooper, former ArcelorMittal Chief Executive Peter Kukielski, South African businesswoman Futhi Mtoba and Wesfarmers Director Wayne Osborn.

The board includes people from Australian, South African and UK backgrounds and already includes Chairman Elect David Crawford, Chief Executive Elect Graham Kerr, Keith Rumble and Xolani Mkhwanazia.

Shareholders will vote in May on the plan to demerge a collection of aluminium, base metals, silver, manganese and coal assets.

BHP shares were up 63 cents, or 2.09 per cent, to $30.85 at 9.10am.

For the latest news click here

Follow on Twitter