Nine finalists have been announced for the Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety’s Community Partnership Resources Sector Award with the winner to be announced next month at the Awards for Excellence ceremony.

Western Australia Minister for Mines and Petroleum Bill Johnston said the successful finalists have demonstrated that communities can form meaningful partnerships with the resources sector that extend beyond the reach and lifetime of a mine.

““The nine finalists demonstrate the resources industry’s state-wide commitment to good social outcomes, excellence and innovation,” the minister said.

“Any development can bring change to a community and I applaud the resources companies that are going above and beyond to ensure those changes are lasting and sustainable.”

From the South-West to the Kimberley, the partnerships tackle a range of issues that impact communities, including cultural awareness, conservation, road safety, education and employment.

The Community Partnership Resources Sector Award recognises partnerships between communities, or community groups, and WA resources and extractive industry organisations.
The nine finalists include:
- Teach Learn Grow and Independence Group’s Rural Tutoring Program.

- The Industry Road Safety Alliance South West which includes the Shires of Boddington, Collie and Harvey, RoadWise, Main Roads WA, Road Safety Commission, WA Police and the Department of Transport alongside South32 Worsley Alumina, Newmont Boddington Gold, Premier Coal and Synergy.

- Swan Alcoa Landcare Program

- The Budadee Foundation and Atlas Iron Limited.

- KCGM and KBULG Environmental and Sustainability Paternership.

- BHP Strategic Environmental Assessment Traditional Owner Stakeholder Engagement Program.

- The Graham (Polly) Farmer Foundation – Rio Tinto Partnership

- BHP and Aspire UWA: Forging educational pathways

- The Wiluna Martu Ranger Program with the Tarlka Matuwa Piarku Aboriginal Corporation and Central Desert Native Title Services, Land and Community

Image: The West Australian/ Minister for Mines and Petroleum Bill Johnston